Port Orchard Independent


Chamber honors Sauer, Wilson as Man and Woman of the Year

Port Orchard Independent Editor
October 18, 2013 · Updated 11:17 AM

Brian Sauer and Kathleen Wilson were honored as the 2013 “Man and Woman of the Year” by the Port Orchard Chamber of Commerce. The awards were presented during the Oct. 11 banquet held at the McCormick Woods Clubhouse.

Sauer, who worked for the Port of Bremerton from 1985 to 2013, is a Port Orchard resident and a 1984 graduate of South Kitsap High School. He also graduated from Olympic College in 1987 and is now enrolled again at the college.

“Yes, I was definitely surprised,” Sauer said. “I knew that I had been nominated a couple of years ago, but had really not thought more of it.”

While working at the Port of Bremerton, Sauer found time to volunteer and get involved in the community — especially with local youth.

He has worked in leadership roles with the local Boy Scouts, mentored with Rotary helping students at the alternative high school in the South Kitsap School District and with his church, Grace Bible Church.

As a Rotarian, Sauer partners with the Port Orchard Soroptimist International to help feed and provide Christmas support for local children and the elderly. He also worked with the Port Orchard Rotary’s Fish Hatchery.

“There are many people in this community that are just as dedicated to serving others as I am,” Sauer said. “I do not serve for recognition; I serve because that is what is in my heart to do.”

He found time to serve on the boards for the Port Orchard Chamber of Commerce, Grace Bible Church, Murder Mystery and Blackberry Festival. Sauer also volunteered to help with the Seagull Calling Contest, Harbor Festival and Chris Craft Rendezvous.

“There are many ways to serve in this community and I believe that it is the right thing to do,” he added.

Sauer is married with two sons.

Wilson was honored and humbled by the award.

“The women who have been the recipients of the award have made such a big impact on Port Orchard,” she said. “I’m going to do my best to live up to the precedent the past award winners have set.”

Wilson, a Casper, Wyo., native, is part of a large Irish Catholic family.

She was one of five children and attended colleges and universities during her undergraduate years — including the University of Wyoming until her father died.

Wilson returned home to help raise her younger siblings and later attended Casper College. While in school, she had her first library job and met her husband.

While attending the University of Montana, Wilson worked in the campus library. After college, she found herself working as a children’s assistant at the Missoula Public Library.

After moving to Ohio and attending graduate school in library science at Kent State University, Wilson’s first position after receiving her degree was at the Port Orchard Library.

Wilson also is involved with several organizations, including the South Kitsap Rotary, Port Orchard Bay Street Association, Chamber of Commerce and the Kiwanis Club. She has received the “40 Under 40 Award,” NIB award from SKSD and the WASA Community Leadership Award.

“I love being a part of our Port Orchard community and getting to work with so many different groups and terrific people,” Wilson said. “I feel privileged that my position at the library has enabled me to work with such a broad cross-section of our community.”

She and her husband have two boys and she also volunteers in their schools and community sports organizations.

“Port Orchard is truly a special place to live and raise a family, and there are so many residents working to make it even better,” Wilson said. “I love being able to be a part of it.”

During the officers installation by State Rep. Jan Angel, Lance Fong was installed as board president for a second consecutive year. Barry Doll was installed as vice president, Bob Cross as treasurer, Desiree Steffens as immediate past president.

Gary Anderson, Kristine Cowan, Elena Lightbown, Bryan Petro and Angie Powell will serve three-year terms on the board. Jay Seaton, Wilson and Cross will serve two-year terms, while Doll, Fong, Ron Jake, Kathy Michael, Rich Peterson and Brad Potter have one-year terms.

Fong presented the Port Orchard Independent with the 2013 President’s Award. Publisher Sean McDonald accepted the award for the newspaper.

Port of Bremerton Commissioner and auctioneer Larry Stokes auctioned desserts donated by Chamber members during a live auction.

Annette McDonald emceed the event.


Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us