Committees assignments no sweat

The discussion regarding Port Orchard City Council committee assignments had fewer pyrotechnics than expected on Tuesday night, as all seven councilmembers were appointed to their top three committee choices.

The issue of council committees has been a hotly contentious one since, during the last council meeting of 2003, an outgoing council member presented an ordinance that proposed taking committee appointment power away from the mayor and giving it to a committee of the three most senior council members, who then were — and still are — Carolyn Powers, Bob Geiger and John Clauson.

“This one went very smoothly,” said Port Orchard Mayor Kim Abel. “It was a good process. The longer-serving councilmembers helped the others understand the committee process.”

According to Councilman Fred Chang, most of the discussion occurred after committees had been tentatively assigned and focused almost exclusively on who would chair what committee.

Also, the committee assignments won’t be officially approved until Monday night’s regular council meeting. Chang said the councilmembers are in agreement about the assignments.

The Finance Committee reviews contracts and financial issues of the city and is especially involved during budget process at end of calendar year. Clauson, Powers and Rick Wyatt were tentatively appointed to that board, with Clauson as chair.

The Growth Management Committee reviews planning and zoning issues. Chang, Tye Moore and Rita DiIenno were tentatively appointed, with Chang as chair.

The Utility Committee members serve as city representatives on the Sewer Advisory Committee meeting with the Karcher Creek Sewer District Commissioners to discuss the Joint Wastewater Treatment Facility. The committee looks at utility issues regarding sewer, water and stormwater.

Moore, Clauson and Powers were tentatively appointed with Moore as chair.

The Street Committee reviews street and alley issues. Public event application requests and street vacation requests go to this committee for recommendation. DiIenno, Geiger and Wyatt were tentatively appointed, with DiIenno as chair.

The Public Safety Committee reviews issues dealing with public safety such as the cabaret license and noise ordinance. Wyatt, Moore and Chang were tentatively appointed, with Wyatt as chair.

The Economic Development Committee reviews issues dealing with this topic, most recently working with the Port Orchard Revitalization Team to develop a downtown economic development plan. Geiger, Chang and DiIenno were tentatively appointed, with Geiger as chair.

The Public Property Committee reviews actions of the city dealing with city property including parks and excluding streets and public works. Powers, Clauson and Geiger were tentatively appointed with Powers as chair.

Other committees include:

• the Hotel/Motel Tax Committee, on which either Chang or Wyatt will serve;

• the new Lights and Chimes Committee, comprised of Clauson, Wyatt, Moore and Powers;

• the Land-Use Appeal Board made up of Geiger, Wyatt and Clauson;

• the Kitsap Regional Coordinating Council and the Kitsap County LEOFF I Disability Board, on which Powers is an alternate member;

• the Bremerton City-to-City Committee on which Clauson, DiIenno and Chang or Moore will serve; and,

• the County-City Liaison Committee, for which Kitsap County Commissioner Jan Angel will choose three from Powers, Wyatt, Moore or Clauson.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates