ELECTION 2013 | Prop. No. 1 fails, Ashby wins council seat

Donna Stein (left), of Port Orchard, and Sharon Veatch, of Bremerton, process mail-in ballots Tuesday afternoon in the Election Division of the Kitsap County Auditor’s Office. - Dannie Oliveaux/Staff Photo
Donna Stein (left), of Port Orchard, and Sharon Veatch, of Bremerton, process mail-in ballots Tuesday afternoon in the Election Division of the Kitsap County Auditor’s Office.
— image credit: Dannie Oliveaux/Staff Photo

Port Orchard will keep its second-class city status and mayor-council government after citizens casted their ballots in Tuesday’s general election.

Proposition No. 1 would have changed Port Orchard to a code city and change the form of government to a council-manager was defeated by a 2-to-1 margin.

According to unofficial results Wednesday morning, 1,382 (67.7 percent) of Port Orchard voters opposed the measure to 658 (32.3) in favor with eight of 12 precincts reporting.

Bek Ashby will fill the Port Orchard council Position 2 seat after Carolyn Powers retires. Ashby collected 64 percent (1,194) of the vote to Kim Punt’s 35 percent (657).

Ashby said she was humbled by the voters’ support.

“My first reaction was of gratitude to the voters,” Ashby said. “The accessibility to my campaign and my responsiveness to voters are foundations I will move forward to my role on the council. Now it’s time to take down campaign signs, then dive into the city’s preliminary budget.”

Incumbent Jerry Childs kept his council at-large seat with more than 60 percent (1,104) of the vote to newcomer Eric Gonnason’s 38.6 percent (708).

Childs said he was “humbled once again” by the community’s support.

“Being a public servant isn’t always pretty, things can get very trying along the road,” Childs said. “Nonetheless, it is much appreciated when citizens come out and show their support at the ballot box. I feel energized and look forward to another two years working collectively for a better Port Orchard.”

Councilmen Rob Putaansuu and Fred Chang, both unopposed, will return to their Pos. 3 and 6 seats, respectively. Both incumbents received more than 97 percent of the votes.

In the South Kitsap School District director District 3 race, incumbent Chris Lemke retained his seat with more than 62 percent (6,468) of the votes. Challenger Jeff Lakin collected 37 percent or 3,848 votes.

Rebecca Diehl, running unopposed for the SKSD District 4 seat, got 98 percent of the vote.

In the West Sound Utility District Pos. 1 commissioner’s race, which had two incumbents facing off, James J. Hart defeated Jeannie Screws, 1,823 to 1,061, with all 20 precincts reporting.

In other unopposed commissioner races:

• D.W. “Dusty” Wiley and Paul Golnik was re-elected to the South Kitsap Fire and Rescue commissioner’s Pos. 2 and 5 seats, respectively.

• James E. Strode won the Manchester Water District Pos. 2 seat.

• Steve Pedersen won the Port of Manchester District Pos. 3 seat.

• Glenn Patterson won the Sunnyslop Water District  Pos. 1 seat.

• Rod Reid won the Port of Waterman District 1 seat.

More than 41,700 or 27.2 percent of the 153,736 registered Kitsap County voters cast their ballots in Tuesday’s general election with 200 of the 209 precincts reporting.

Election results will be certified on Tuesday, Nov. 26, according to the Election Division.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates