SKSD school board named 'Board of the Year'

The South Kitsap School District board of directors was recognized as the “Board of the Year” for 2013 by the Washington State School Directors’ Association (WSSDA) during last week’s annual conference in Bellevue.

The board consists of Keith Garton, board president, Chris Lemke, Patty Henderson, Kathryn Simpson and Greg Wall

“It is nice to see the board recognized for all the hard work, dedication and leadership they continue to provide to the children of this great district and community,” SKSD Superintendent Michelle Reid said. “This honor is hard earned and well deserved.”

Also, the board was one of 15 school boards in the state that was named this week as Boards of Distinction by the WSSDA.

The annual Boards of Distinction program honors school boards that demonstrate effective use of the Washington School Board Standards. The standards, developed and adopted by WSSDA in 2009, promote research-based governance practices that lead to high levels of student and district achievement.

“Each of the boards has excelled in school governance,” said Debbie Long, president of the association. “The boards had to rigorously document how their work was making a real difference for students. They are exceptional models of effective school boards.”

Applications are evaluated by an independent review panel.

Award applicants submit an essay and supporting evidence to demonstrate how they are putting the standards into practice. This year, applicants addressed the following:

• Adopting policies based on well-researched practices that emphasize a belief that all students can achieve at high levels.

• Ensuring non-negotiable goals for student achievement are established and aligned to the district’s plan.

• Ensuring management of the organization, operations and resources for an efficient and effective learning environment.

• Committing to continuous improvement in student achievement at each school and throughout the district.

• Soliciting input from staff and a wide spectrum of the community so that a diverse range of interests and perspectives on issues is considered.

Other boards receiving recognition were from school districts in Anacortes, Auburn, Ferndale, Franklin Pierce, Issaquah, Kent, Lake Stevens, Monroe, Port Angeles, Pullman, South Kitsap, Sunnyside, Tumwater, University Place and Vancouver.

WSSDA was founded in 1922 and is comprised of all 1,477 school board members from the state’s 295 school districts.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates