SKSD board of directors honored

South Kitsap School District’s Board of Directors was among eight honored as “School Board of Distinction” by the Washington State School Directors Association.

WSSDA also honored Evergreen of Vancouver, Issaquah, Pasco, Puyallup, Vancouver, West Valley of Spokane and White River at its annual conference Friday in Seattle.

Pasco was honored as “School Board of the Year.”

Award applicants were required to submit an essay that demonstrated how they were putting new standards into practice.

They were required to address five specific standards — providing responsible school district governance; setting and community high expectations for students learning; creating conditions district-wide for student and staff success; holding the school district accountable for meeting student learning expectations; and engaging the local community and representing the values and expectations they hold for their schools.

Applicants were evaluated by an independent review panel.

The school districts that were honored had to receive at least 70 points out of a possible 100.

Each of this year’s honorees earned at least 80 points. The essays are posted online at

SKSD board members during the past year include Keith Garton, Patty Henderson, Chris Lemke, Naomi Polen, Jay Rosapepe and Kathryn Simpson.

Colton Habenicht is the student representative.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates