Sports briefs: Bloomquist signs with Diamondbacks

Willie Bloomquist is headed back to the desert.

The versatile 1996 South Kitsap High School graduate signed a one-year contract Tuesday with the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Bloomquist, 33, hit .267 with a .299 on-base and .380 slugging percentages in 187 at-bats for Kansas City and Cincinnati last year. In parts of nine seasons, he has a .264 career batting average.

South Kitsap junior Taylor Sunkel hit a go-ahead basket with less than one minute remaining to lead the Wolves to a 47-46 win Friday against Mount Tahoma in Class 4A Narrows League play.

Starting point guard Kelsey Callaghan also returned after a five-game absence because of knee problems as South (10-2 overall, 4-2 league) ended a two-game losing streak. The Wolves are just one-half game behind the Thunderbirds (11-2, 5-2) for second place in league.


At South Kitsap 47, Mount Tahoma 46

Mount Tahoma 10 13 16 8 - 46

South Kitsap 9 15 16 9 - 47

Mount Tahoma-Tanisha Lopez 6, Ashley Keys 8, Ashyna Davis 2, Alisha Reed 0, Jessi Williamson 11, Charly Williams 7, Kaitlynn Bunger 12.

South Kitsap-Kelsey Callaghan 2, Ali Davis 6, Angela Romonsky 0, Jackie Steiger 13, Taylor Sunkel 16, Maile Keanu 2, Dana Goularte 7, Jen Hale 1.

Jan. 7

At Central Kitsap 63, South Kitsap 56

South Kitsap-Amy Bakalarski 0, Ali Davis 4, Angela Romonsky 15, Carly Bakalarski 2, Jackie Steiger 7, Taylor Sunkel 15, Maile Keanu 1, Dana Goularte 12.

Central Kitsap-Brittany Zawadzki 18, Leslie Guzman 11, Demi Holbrook 0, Krista Stabler 10, Lindsey Simonis 14, Kirsten Anthony 6, Jenna Warner 0, Gwen Ryno 2, Logan LaFontaine 2.

South Kitsap senior Conner Hartmann won his third major tournament title Saturday with a 6-2 decision against Thomas Jefferson’s KW Williams in the 189-pound weight class at the Matman Classic at Central Kitsap High School.

Hartmann previously won championships this season at the Hammerhead Invitational and the Pacific Coast Championships. He is ranked No. 1 in his class.

The Wolves placed fifth at Matman, which was won by Orting with 218 points, in the 16-team bracket. South had 138 points.

Cody Barich also wrestled in the championship round for the Wolves, but lost a 5-1 decision against Orting’s Dalton Evanger at 145 pounds.

Team scores—Orting 218, Graham-Kapowsin 209, Enumclaw 205, Tahoma 173, South Kitsap 138, Rogers 131, Mt. Spokane 125, North Mason 92, Central Kitsap 85, AC Davis 66, Bethel 63.5, Thomas Jefferson 58, Lake Washington, 43.5, Shelton 27, Olympic 26.5, Auburn Riverside 19

Matman Classic results



103-Alexio Garcia (ACD) p. Dakota Stiles (Orting) 1:41. 112-Taylor Salzberg (GK) d. Zac Joaquin (NM) 2-0. 119-Bryce Evans (RG) d. Steve Hopkins (Tahoma) 8-5. 125-Drew Templemen (Orting) d. Joey Palmer (RG) 3-2. 130-Antonio Brown (Orting) d. Hunter File (EC) 2-0. 135-Shannon Maris (Orting) d. Tanner Sturdevant (GK) 16-2. 140-Grant Steen (GK) d. Trevor Anderson (Bet) 4-2. 145-Dalton Evanger (Orting) d. Cody Barich (SK) 5-1. 152-Josh Musick (EC) d. Nikko Veltri (Orting) 7-5. 160-Kario Wallin (EC) p. Billy Goforth (MS) :33. 171-Taylor Whetzel (MS) d. Jerry Petrehko (LW) 10-5. 189-Conner Hartmann (SK) d. KW Williams (TJ) 6-2. 215-Aaron Davis (Tahoma) p. Mikey Ramos (GK) 1:22. 285-Michael Henry (GK) d. Kyle Lanoue (CK) 2-0.

Third place (tie)

103-Tim Whitehead (TH), Juan Lopez (ACD). 112-Austin Dodson (OT), Tyke Reid (EC). 119-Terrill Wilson (SK), Adam Romano (GK). 125-Jesse Vaughn (TH), Cody Yeik (Oly). 130-Tyler Carlyle (RG), Ian Steen (GK). 135-Brian McCarty (NM), Greg Morrison (SK). 140-Lucas Somera (EC), Tanner Mjelde (TH). 145-John Hoover (MS), Sam Newman (NM). 152-Austin Pea (MS), Austin Wagner (ACD). 160-Taylor Smith (Bet), Dwight Yetter (RG). 171-Michael Neiner (SK), Matt Dawley (GK). 189-Shaq Blair (CK), Colton Malek (EC). 215-Eddie Meisner (SK), TJ Cormier (EC). 285-Manuel Alejandre (Rog), Chris Williams (EC).

Fifth place (tie)

103-Spencer Schroeder (GK), Codi Duckworth (NM). 112-Arthur Green (Bet), Justin Weiding (TH). 119-Michael Roybal (TJ), Pedro Joaquin (NM). 125-Mike Moniz (OT), Travis Reano (EC). 130-Ian Sprecher (CK), Jordan Jolly (TH). 135-Austin Kandior (TH), Cole Snider (EC). 140-Sawyer Piecewicz (MS), Beau Gore (OT). 145-Marcus Nichols (EC), Mack Busey (GK). 152-Wesley Salyer (RG), Zeke Nistrian (TJ). 160-Jorge Alcala (ACD), Sam Skinner (SK). 171-TJ Skinner (OT), Matt Hopkins (TH). 189-Jamison Rice (OT), Gavin Kovacs (RG). 215-Joel Eklof (CK), Jack Michels (LW). 285-Alex Boynton (GK), Matt King (OT).

West Bay Auto Bulls statistics

Jan. 8

West Bay Auto Bulls 55, Brick Squad 38

West Bay-Josh Dubble 22, Keithan Dennis 10, Nathan Cartwright 6, Keri Burden 6, Ian Davis 2, Nigel Lynch 5, Cole Brown 4, John Aguon 0, Tyler Rogers 0, Aaron Field 0.

Jan. 6

(No final score provided)

West Bay-Josh Dubble 30, Keithan Dennis 21, Nigel Lynch 10, Nathan Cartwright 14, Ian Davis 8, Keri Burden 9, Aaron Field 8, Cole Brown 4, John Aguon 2, Tyler Rogers 0.


Jan. 14

Hi-Joy Bowl

South Kitsap 1,901, Stadium 1,778

Stadium-718, 814, 112, 134.

South Kitsap-777, 843, 125, 156.

High series-Taylor Cole-White (St) 326, Krystle Peterson (SK) 371.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates