Wolves extend dual-match streak to 114

With a tournament and now a dual match under their belts, the South Kitsap wrestling team likes the position it finds itself in heading into next week’s tough dual match at Peninsula.

The Wolves ran their Narrows League consecutive dual-match winning streak to 114 straight Tuesday night with a 48-24 win over Bellarmine Prep.

“It was nice to get the first home match behind us,” co-coach Dave Dyess said. “Now we have a rhythm down and can build and improve on it.”

Rhythm was the key, and junior Kyle Saltsgaver got the Wolves off on the right foot, winning the first match by pinning Andrew Manierto just one minute, 50 seconds into their 215-pound match.

“Kyle came out firing on all cylinders,” Dyess said. “And Jon Delucia got the lightweights going.”

Delcuia, going at 119-pounds, pinned Andrew Abouhamad at the 3:15 mark to give the Wolves four straight wins in the match.

The team’s “big names,” as Dyess called them, did their part to preserve the win as Brandon Kelly (135) and Brent Chriswell (171) won the matches by pins.

But the team also got solid performances out of Brady Winslow (145), Steve Medina (152) and Danny Chester (140).

Chester, a sophomore, filled in for Kyle Coppinger, who has a broken hand, and defeated Jamaal Bess 19-12.

The Wolves, who finished second as a team last Saturday at the Auburn Invitational, will face their toughest test of the young season Tuesday in Purdy against Peninsula.

“We still have several kids not yet eligible to wrestle in matches,” Dyess said. “Because of various reasons such as, number of practices.”

Tuesday's match begins at 7 p.m.    

South Kitsap 48, Bellarmine 24

103 - Josiah Kipperberg (SK) won by forfeit

112 - Robbie Luder (SK) won by forfeit

119 - Jon DeLucia (SK) p. Andrew Abouhamad 3:15   

125 - David McElroy (B) won by forfeit

130 - Mark Perez (B) p. Garret Lyman 3:49

135 - Brandon Kelly (SK) p. Eesa Abdul-Latif 1:44 

140 - Danny Chester (SK) d. Jamaal Bess 19-12   

145 - Brady Winslow (SK) p. Robert McNeal 3:43 

152 - Steve Medina (SK) d. Sam Erwin-Svoboda 7-3 

160 - David Maybury (B) d. Mike Landin 3-0

171 - Brent Chriswell (SK) p. Eric McNeal 5:15  

189 - Kevin Hale (B) d. Joe Loehmer 11-10

215 - Kyle Saltsgaver (SK) p. Andrew Mamierto 1:50  

275 - Dan Quarless (B) p. Tony Duarte 1:20

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates