Wolves one win away for state title

South Kitsap's Chloe Helms and Emily Hulscher placed sixth in the state doubles tournament Saturday at the Tri-City Court Club.

Helms and Hulscher beat Newport's Lani Nunokawa and Lauren Kayahara 4-6, 6-3, 7-5 in the first round. But the duo was knocked into the consolation round with a 6-1, 6-1 loss in the following round against Britta Stime and Katrina Stime.

The pair then won their next two matches. Helms, a junior, and her senior counterpart defeated Puyallup's Kaylyn Brown and Emily Sullivan 6-1, 6-3. They followed with a 6-4, 6-3 victory against Newport's Tomomi Matsushita and Karina Vaksman.

Helms and Hulscher could've placed as high as fourth, but lost 6-2, 6-2 in their final match against Eastlake's Melanie Wang and Chelsa Tsujii.

Those wins helped South earn a three-way tie for fourth place with nine points. Decatur, Kamiakin and Newport shared the team title with 10 points.

Rae Cockreham, a freshman who attends Cedar Heights Junior High, won one match for South. Cockreham beat Central Valley's Leslie Ho 6-0, 6-3, but lost against Newport's Amie Vo 0-6, 6-4, 7-6 in her next match.

Cockreham still was close to placing after beating Gonzaga Prep's Anna Lambert 6-0, 4-6, 6-2. But she fell a win short of placing when Stanwood's Megan LaLone beat her 6-2, 1-6, 6-2.

13U Wolfpack takes two

Jake York went 3 for 3 with two runs and three RBI, while Bryce Broome and Kevin Whatley added two hits to help 13U Wolfpack to a 7-6 win Sunday against the Washington GreenSox. The Wolfpack were outhit 13-0, but twice were able to escape bases-loaded situations.

The win, coupled with the Wolfpack's 11-3 victory Saturday against Magnolia BBC, helped them move into a tie for first place in the National Division of the Sandy Kofaux Baseball League. York went 2 for 3 with a pair of doubles and five RBI, while Moore went 3 for 3 with an RBI. Caulin Bakalarski went 2 for 2, while Cody Wolfe and Michael Wood each added two RBI for the Wolfpack.

Gold Mountain Ladies Club

Tuesday's team tournament

Low gross: 1, Barb Evans, Bonnie Becke, Sue Allensworth, Jeanette Kirschman 172; 2, Keiko Okada, Cindy LeMay, Claudia Olson, Patricia Pieropan 174.

Low net: 1, Kris Sharp, Carole Rasmussen, Amy Broderick, Colleen Shorrock 122; 2, Lorraine Gibbs, BJ Jones, Darlene Donmeyer, Rosemary Lowman 123; 3, Jody Piper, Penny Swan, BJ Weisberg, Beth Sampson 124.

Narrows League fastpitch team

Bridge Division

MVP: Taylor Darneille, Wilson, sr.

First team

Pitchers: Janessa Flynn, Wilson, fr.; Kjersti Johnson, Gig Harbor, jr.

Catcher: Megan Ransier, South Kitsap, soph.

Infield: Riley Jorlin, Wilson, fr.; Taylor Gomsrud, Wilson, soph.; Ally Johnson, South Kitsap, sr.; Bridjette Box, South Kitsap, jr.; Sabrina Cleveland, Foss, sr.

Outfield: Aquila Fox, Wilson, jr.; Nancy Lavohina, Wilson, fr.; Mickelle Oslin, Gig Harbor, jr.; Cortney Echternach, South Kitsap, sr.

Second team

Pitchers: Emily Cunningham, South Kitsap, soph.; Alexis White-Waters, Foss, sr.

Catcher: Sarah Fonoimoana, Foss, jr.

Infield: Chantel Biehl, Gig Harbor, fr.; Maddy Foster, Gig Harbor, fr.; Alexis O'Dell, South Kitsap, jr.; Holly Lider, South Kitsap, jr.; Alexa Olague, Wilson, fr.

Outfield: Megan Cole, Foss, jr.; Jessica Tachell, Wilson, fr.; M. Lund, Shelton.

Honorable mention

Courtney Digman, Gig Harbor, sr.; Samantha Jacobs, South Kitsap, sr.; Gable, Shelton; Destiny Warren, Lincoln, sr.

Narrows League baseball team

Bridge Division

MVP: Brady Steiger, South Kitsap, sr.

Coach of the Year: Jim Fairweather, South Kitsap.

First team

Pitchers: Kurtis Longver, Wilson, soph.; Scott Schultz, Gig Harbor, jr.

Catcher: Cameron Holcomb, Gig Harbor, sr.

Infield: Mike Barnett, Gig Harbor, sr.; Scott Benedict, Gig Harbor, sr.; Scott McGallian, South Kitsap, sr.; Mitch Cartwright, South Kitsap, sr.

Outfield: Nico Youngren, Gig Harbor, sr.; Charlie Hough, South Kitsap, sr.; Collin Monagle, South Kitsap, sr.

Utility: Ricky Johnson, South Kitsap, jr.

Designated hitter: Chet Thompson, Gig Harbor, sr.

Second team

Pitcher: Michael McCall, Gig Harbor, soph.

Catcher: Gordy Anderson, South Kitsap, jr.

Infield: Mike Jones, Gig Harbor, sr.; JJ Fullmer, Foss, fr.; Brendan Bartanen, Foss, sr.

Outfield: Eric Lund, Wilson, soph.; Spenser Manjarrez, Gig Harbor, soph.; Caleb Macabitas, South Kitsap, sr.

Utility: David Bigelow, Gig Harbor, jr.

Honorable mention

Catchers: Zack Nodden, Foss; Gavin Fazio, South Kitsap.

Infield: Ghryn Hobson, South Kitsap; Adam Anuraga, Wilson; Colin Walters, Gig Harbor.

Outfield: Josh Fort, South Kitsap; Brad Fairweather, South Kitsap.

Narrows League soccer team

Bridge Division

First team

Goalkeeper: Dylan Rus-Ingham, Olympia, sr.; Eric Owen, Stadium, soph.; Bryce Leach, Bellarmine Prep, jr.

Forward: Jamael Cox, Stadium, jr.; Adam Cronin, Central Kitsap, sr.; Ryan Rash, Bellarmine Prep, sr.

Midfield: Hector Alvarado, Stadium, sr.; Nico de la Cruz, South Kitsap, jr.; Scott Hansen, Bellarmine Prep, jr.; Brandon Scott, Wilson, sr.

Defender: Kai Mumford, Olympia, sr.; TJ Squires, Stadium, sr.; Bryan Hall, Stadium, sr.; Pat Triggs, Central Kitsap, sr.; Colin Ip, Bellarmine Prep, sr.; Bailey Martin, Stadium, jr.

Second team

Goalkeeper: Korey Durkee, Gig Harbor, fr.; Daniel Lathrop, South Kitsap, sr.; Grant Rico, Central Kitsap, sr.

Forward: Skyler Specht, Olympia, soph.; Brent Ricigliano, South Kitsap, sr.; Robby Ubben, Gig Harbor, soph.; Julian Jones, Mount Tahoma, jr.

Midfield: Niles Stirrett, Central Kitsap, jr.; Nicolai Linck, Foss, sr.; Jasper Knox, Olympia, sr.; Will Gorbaty, Stadium, sr.; Brenden Cohen, Stadium, sr.; Cooper Doxon, Bellarmine Prep, fr.; Curtis Pederson, Bellarmine Prep, fr.; Jason Skolnik, South Kitsap, sr.

Defender: Drew Lyons, Olympia, jr.; Brandon Brockway, Stadium, soph.; Matt Kunish, Central Kitsap, sr.; Gavin Klein, South Kitsap, jr.; Chris Piotrowski, Gig Harbor, soph.; Eric Schacht, Bellarmine Prep, jr.; Gustavo Quiroz, Lincoln, jr.

Honorable mention

Goalkeeper: Linh Nguyen-Tran, Foss; Jose Talavera, Lincoln.

Forward: Kieran Yon, Stadium; David Olson, Gig Harbor; Chase Ichiki, Central Kitsap; Zack Naccarato, Olympia.

Midfield: Joel Nightingale, Olympia; Rhyse Kahue, Stadium; Will Enoch, Gig Harbor; Tyler Arrington, Gig Harbor; Roger Blancarte, Gig Harbor; Jordan Jacobson, Gig Harbor; Drew Blaisdell, Central Kitsap; Miles Nilsen, Central Kitsap; Stan Walmer, Foss.

Defender: Steven Lee, Foss; Brian Carpenter, Olympia; Eddie Fisher, Olympia; Casey Kalbrener, Gig Harbor; Jeff Gronewold, Central Kitsap; Sam Bingaman, Olympia.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates