SK runner fourth in half-marathon

Drew Polley, a 2004 South Kitsap High School graduate, placed fourth in Saturday’s inaugural Rock ‘n’ Roll Seattle Marathon.

Peter Omae won the men’s half marathon in 2 hours, 18 minutes, 17 seconds. The course was 26.2 miles.

Polley, who graduated in May from Washington State University, finished in 1:06.44.

Gold Mountain

Ladies Club results

June 25 Invitational Four-Ball Best Ball Tournament

Low gross of the field: Cathy Backland, Bonnie Becke, Nancy Faliski, Annette Seydel, 156.

Low net of the field: Patty Manning, Tammy Ruth, Lucinda Thompson, Sharon Zablotney, 117.

Low net

Flight one: 1, Judy Christensen, Lyz Cover, Sue Doty, Lorraine Gibbs, 120; 2, Tricia Beu, Marilyn Cunningham, Pearl Martin, Jody Piper, 127; 3, Hisayo Nakahara, Keiko Okada, Teri Smith, Mary Van Houten, 129.

Flight two: 1, Carol Albo, Nancy Moore, Claudia Olson, Gail Patterson, 119. 2, Olympia Brehm, Pat Conway, Enid O’Malley, Katy Watson, 121; 3, Marsha Berry, Gretchen Davis, Dianne Hieatt, Jane Stark, 123.

Flight three: 1, Sandy Green, Lisa Hammel, Jan Prout, Willadee Tallman, 120; 2, Rita Cooper, Ursula Huhta, Ann Kaufman, Carol Kehoe, 121; 3, Amy Broderick, Roberta Drolshagen, Mary Montgomery, Elaine Naddeo, 122.

KP winners

Flight one: Sue Burklund

Flight two: Donna Pausch

Flight three: LaVaughn Therriault

AP All-state

boys soccer teams

Class 4A

Player of the year: Justin Moore, forward, South Kitsap

Coach of the year: Michael Krug, South Kitsap

First team

Forwards: Dylan Gaydosh, Stadium; Ugo Okoli, Todd Beamer; Justin Moore, South Kitsap; Marco Acevedo, Pasco.

Midfielders: Troy Peterson, Todd Beamer; Quinn Grisham, Issaquah; Andrew Clark, Pasco; KC Phillips, Stadium.

Defenders: Colin Ip, Bellarmine Prep; Kurt Stalsberg, Mountain View; Brady Espinoza, Pasco; Dan Tonkovich, Roosevelt; Connor Moe, Snohomish.

Goalkeeper: Emmanuel Martinez, Pasco.

Second team

Forwards: John Crenshaw, Marysville-Pilchuck; Oscar Diaz, Auburn Riverside; Septi Danciu, Evergreen; Brendan Gundry, Snohomish.

Midfielders: Drew Landram, Kentlake; Mike Ramos, University; Jake Perry, Skyview; Sean Tollan, Rogers; Brady Ballew, Marysville-Pilchuck.

Defenders: Lenin Ramirez, Jefferson; Kai Mumford, Olympia; Evan Johnson, Kamiakin; David Surdyk, Woodinville; Mike Smolkowski, Woodinville.

Goalkeepers: Daniel Ervin, Skyview; Eric Owen, Stadium.

Honorable mentions (South Kitsap only)

Nico de la Cruz, midfielder.

AP All-state

baseball teams

Class 4A

Player of the year: Brett Jacobs, infielder, Richland

Coach of the year: Ben Jacobs, Richland

First team

Pitchers: Drew Vettleson, Central Kitsap; Tony Bryant, Kennewick; Billy Moon, University.

Catcher: Josh Rapacz, Richland.

Infielders: Tim Peterson, Emerald Ridge; Brady Steiger, South Kitsap; Brett Jacobs, Richland; Cody Shepherd, Richland; Trevor Mitsui, Shorewood.

Outfielders: Sean Rehon, Puyallup; Andrew Mendenhall, Southridge; Chris Marangon, Tahoma.

Second team

Pitchers: Adrian Sampson, Skyline; Christian Kaiser, Lake Washington; Adam Cimber, Puyallup.

Catcher: Robbie Ingram, Puyallup.

Infielders: Tyler Roberts, Southridge; Sal Arena, Puyallup; Travis Hagel, Auburn; Shawn O’Brien, Kamiakin.

Outfielders: Kyrell Hudson, Evergreen; Jamison Rowe, Richland; Garett Hall, Olympia.

AP All-state

fastpitch teams

Class 4A

Player of the year: Amanda Fitzsimmons, pitcher, Auburn Riverside

Coach of the year: Mike McMahon, Kelso

First team

Pitchers: Amanda Fitzsimmons, Auburn Riverside; Kori Seidlitz, Mountlake Terrace; Crystal Nyman, Kelso.

Catcher: Kyndell Andrews, Emerald Ridge.

Infielders: Maggie Wagner, Woodinville; Hope Klicker, Walla Walla; Taylor Darneille, Wilson; Allegra Wilde, Kamiakin.

Outfielders: Erin Fujita, Jefferson; Alexis Bobadilla, Walla Walla; Jessica Tenigawa, Marysville-Pilchuck.

Second team

Pitchers: Erica Hendron, Redmond; Bobbi-Jo Schaapveld, Rogers; Alexa Derrick, Emerald Ridge.

Catcher: Shelby Gonzales, Moses Lake.

Infielders: Kaylie Winston, Pasco; Jessica Glenn, Kentwood; Lindsay Sullivan, Woodinville; Aly Delizo, Mountlake Terrace; Kerrianne Davidson, Emerald Ridge.

Outfielders: Sydney Cejka, Richland; Stephanie Crystal, Kamiakin; Kelsey Segawa, Olympia.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates